Picacho Mountains

I stopped at Picacho Peak to get this photo on my drive to Tucson. I went to Tucson to surprise my grandpa for his 94th birthday. That was a lot of fun. I spent about seven hours at his house and saw my aunt and uncle too. I gave Grandpa a card and a V-J Day stamp.

He told us tales of being in the Army Air Forces during World War II. He served stateside as an instructor in B-24s. He was a tail gunner. I love hearing his stories. I took a few videos of him telling them because they're so fun.

After visiting family, I met with a friend whom I hadn't seen since college. We worked together on the school paper. Now he works at the Arizona Daily Star, Tucson's newspaper. We caught up at the Surly Wench, one of my favorite bars in Tucson. It was good seeing him again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.