Sunset from the mountain

I did it! I hiked Piestewa Peak this evening with my former co-worker Matt. He invited me yesterday. I bought a headlamp and brought my camera, tripod and a bottle of water.

It was excruciating on the way up. I had to stop several times, and I wanted to stop and give up, but Matt made me keep going. I made it. I'm glad I did.

I have now hiked the second tallest mountain in the city. It was my first time hiking a mountain and the biggest hike I've ever been on. It was totally worth it. I had a lot of fun. I bet I'm a bit sore tomorrow.

Piestewa Peak is named after Lori Piestewa, who was the first Native American woman to die in combat in the U.S. military. She died in 2003 in Iraq. She was from a town about 75 miles from where I grew up. The mountain used to be called Squaw Peak, which has negative connotations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.