Not Connected

The unthinkable has happened: our very old modem has died and we are without internet in the Dower House.

His Lordship rose to the occasion and phoned BT in India to see what the problem was and it was they, so many thousands of miles away, who did the diagnosis.They are sending a new modem to reach us within 5 days. I suppose it must be coming by sea from Mumbai.

I can just recall the last time, several years ago, when the Internet at the old Castle went down and I was at the receiving end of instructions for reviving it, all transmitted in a foreign accent from a far away place. I have barely recovered now.

The upside to this fiasco is a trip to the land of the Sunday toast and Internet connection, where it is just possible to sit long enough to post a blip and for His Lordship to oversee his financial affairs. However there is no toast for me this morning. As for HL, I could not possibly say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.