Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

My First Milky Way

[Back Blip]

After a restless first night in my tent I decided to get up early and walk down to the beach to try and get some sunrise pictures near Dunstanburgh Castle, which I was moderately pleased with (see extra).

We then went to Craster and walked to Dunstanburgh Castle from that direction and then we went for a fabulous Sunday lunch at the Jolly Fisherman to celebrate my Mum and Dad's wedding anniversary.

I had a little post Sunday lunch snooze (hey it was a Sunday and I had been up since 4.30!). 

In the evening the skies were clear, so as I had been hoping for at least one clear night to see the stars and hope to try and get some astro photography done I got togged up and headed out into the fields, and as my eyes adjusted to the darkness I was blown away by how many stars I could see, and as I looked around I suddenly realised I was looking at the Milky Way arching over me and Dunstanburgh Castle reaching out to the sea.

I managed to get this composition with the Milky Way reaching up into the heavens with a hedgerow in the foreground which was backlit by a glow from the distant horizon, complete with two planes. I did see several shooting stars while I was out before I went back to my tent for a very happy sleep after a wonderfully long day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.