Lady of the Lake

If you love very old books then a visit to the Leighton library , in the centre of Dunblane, is a must.
 
But I am ashamed to say that until today I had never been inside though I regularly send visitors there.
However, it is only a stone’s throw from Dunblane museum where I have my exhibition so finally there was no excuse and I popped in.
(If you look in extra photos you will see Andy Murray’s golden Postbox in the distance –far right).
 
Built in 1687 it is the oldest private library in Scotland with over 4,000 books from the 16th – 19th century.
 
These are written in 89 languages including Greek, Persian, Syrian, and Gaelic.
 
Among their treasures is a rare first edition of Walter Scott’s Lady of the Lake. I asked to see it and got quite surprise at the sheer size of the book, a hefty tome.
 
   
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.