Inspiration

Some days I'm inspired to write by the pictures I take. I'm counting on a visit to Looking Glass Photo in Berkeley next week for a tutorial on how to do more with my camera on 'manual'  because I'm lacking photo mojo for the time being….

However, I am inspired by some quotes from Ursula Le Guin on aging and what beauty really means taken from her book, the wave in the mind : talks and essays on the writer, the reader and the imagination. A friend sent me these quotes from a blog called brain pickings (www.brainpickings.org). The drawing is courtesy of my granddaughter.

"Dogs don't know what they look like. Dogs don't even know what size they are. No doubt it's our fault for breeding them into such weird shapes and sizes. My brother's dachshund, standing tall at eight inches, would attack a Great Dane in the full conviction that she could tear it apart. When the little dog is assaulting its ankles, the big dog often stands there looking confused -- "should I eat it? I am bigger than it, aren't I? But then the Great Dane will come and try to sit on your lap and mash you flat, under the impression that he is a Peke-a-poo."

"A lot of us humans are like dogs: we don't know what size we are, how we're shaped, what we look like. The most extreme example of this ignorance must be the people who design the seats on airplanes. At the other extreme, the people who have the most accurate, vivid sense of their own appearance may be dancers. What dancers look like is, after all, what they do."

Great writing and food for thought….and lots more where that came from.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.