Eye to Events

By i2events

High Visibility

I must admit to cropping this shot. I could of included the officers head but I just liked the anonymity of his back at the counter.
One of my great heroes, Henri Cartier-Bresson was vehemently opposed to cropping. It was his belief that whenever you took a photo, it should always be done in-camera. Reportedly, if his framing or composition was a bit off, he would disregard the image.
I think cropping too often makes you lax and lazy with your framing when you are shooting, and ultimately will impede you in your photographic composition. Obviously digital has given us ample opportunities for taking images, it is now no longer restricted by any financial considerations of film processing. Cropping might be the magic cast by the newspapers, but I believe you can gain more out of the spell of photography by trying to compose in camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.