Journey Through Time

By Sue

Mt. Adams - A Very Scenic Day, Indeed!

First of all, let me say that I'm sorry I put up such a poor image for yesterday.  I was in a hurry and didn't even process the picture.  If you jump over to my Flickr images, after you see all the photos I took for today, then you will see the photos I took at the Refuge yesterday.  And the images have been processed so they look better.  That's a lot to ask of you, I know...but it's an option if you so choose.

Now, back to the business of today's Blip.  Bill and I went back to the Mt. Adams area, just like we did a week ago when we saw the lovely paddle wheeler on the Columbia River, which was my Blip for that day.  Today, Bill said to pick Mt. Adams.  So, here it is.  The clouds were thickening and it looks like it is erupting...but it's not.  What a lovely day and what a beautiful, scenic route!  We'd never been here before, so it was a real treat.  We traveled further east on the Washington side, almost to the town of Lyle, and then headed north which follows the Klickitat River.  The road climbs up to the plateau where Mt. Adams is seen in all it's glory.  Then we traveled westward and went to the Conboy Lake NWR, which is a wonderful area, and very different from the wildlife refuge that we frequent at Ridgefield.  We didn't have time to walk the 2 mile trail, but we did get to see the old homestead cabin that was moved to this area and tenderly brought back from the brink of destruction to sit proudly here and show us how the early pioneers of this valley lived.  Or at least, what they lived in, anyway.  And this isn't even telling you how earlier we went on a death defying short trail, down a steep path, to see the view that was awesome.  You should be very proud of me, believe me.  The drive continued with us ending up in Trout Lake, where we went a week ago, and then back down to Hightway 14 and home on the Washington side of the Columbia River.  It was gorgeous!

If you look at the photos that I took today, you will see a lot of the countryside that we passed through.  The Columbia River Gorge is a fascinating place and it's geology is just so...well, awesome. .  If you like to read about things like this, this Wikipedia article will tell you about the creation of the Gorge, among many other interesting tidbits. 

We might try to get back to the Klickitat River area in October, because eagles come for the fish and I guess it's just wonderful to see.

We took snacks for our lunch and we had a fun day.  Bill was such a good sport to drive about 235 miles today.  Hey, our anniversary is Saturday, and this is one way we are celebrating...little trips around the area. 

I hope you see the photos as it will show you...those who don't live in this area....how beautiful that area is.   Thank you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.