Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Sleeping!

William has a history of falling asleep in odd places (half on and half off the bottom step of his childminders stairs is probably the oddest). But I thought we had left those days behind, until today.

Today started really well as I woke in my own bed (not William's) for the first time since we put him in his own room. Half scared Jim to death as he had forgotten it is my bed too and didn't expect to see me when the alarm went off!

The day was a fairly normal Thursday, Music Train at 10.45 and swimming at 12.30. He was very good at swimming actually putting his nose under the water after having a pep talk from Carys this morning. Then while we were waiting in the cafe area for our food he ran around and around. He should have been tired after swimming, but no he was hyper. However he was also very good about walking over computer leads (a couple of people had their lap tops plugged into the wall) and always standing still when the girl came out with food or 'ot drinks. He shared a tuna melt paninni with me and then got transfixed watching through the window as the porta cabin outside was hoisted away. He finally allowed us to leave at 14.15.

Had to go to Tesco, against my better judgement at this point as I knew he was likely to crash, but had to return some stuff. He managed to stay awake in the car so I thought I was home and dry. Should have known better when he asked to ride in his nemisis, a shopping trolley. Two minutes in and he was gone!

He slept for a maximun of half an hour in total and boy did I pay for it a bedtime. He was not ready to sleep. He took over an hour to go, not helped by going nappy free for the first time. Him seemed as paranoid as me about him weeing in his bed. fingers crossed he doesn't. He has been dry everynight since we started toilet training on June 3rd, so lets hope it stays that way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.