Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hummie or Lady?

That was the question today... I opted for the American Lady butterfly simply because I like it better.  And, this late in the season, both hummers and butterflies are becoming increasingly scarce.  I'll post the hummer in Extra so you can decide if I made the right choice.  

I actually thought the hummers were gone today since I didn't see any this morning.  But later in the afternoon, a female showed up and hung out around the garden for a while - most likely a migrant as she showed no interest in the feeders, only the flowers.  Same as the little male who was here yesterday.  

Had a nice hike this morning and,. amazingly, I found the same huge Mantis in the exact same spot as I saw it several days ago.  I guess hunting is good there and she has no reason to move.   

In the garden today, lots of meadowhawks, on battered fritillary, one monarch, and one large darner who wouldn't stop long enough for a photo or a proper id.  Oh, and a large group of mixed vultures (turkey and black) passed overhead mid-afternoon - at least 30 by my best count.  Lots of raptors migrating at the moment, especially when wind conditions are favorable for thermals.

An otherwise uneventful day.  The cats have been on good behavior all day - no doubt saving up their antics for tonight when we need to sleep...

TTFN...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.