Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

For me???

I decided to go for the easy shot today - Scoobie, the garden chipmunk.  As you can see, I lured him with a pile of sunflower seeds, which he handily dispatched in under 10 minutes.  Honestly, I bet he has at least 10 pounds of seeds stashed in his burrow, that little rascal.  And as long as I put them out, he'll stuff his cheeks and carry as many seeds as possible into his larder.  No danger of starvation for our little Scoobie this winter.  

I did some work outside today.  Hubs and I agreed on a patch of "wild" on our property as a sight for some milkweed and other wild flowers next summer.  It is going to be a stinker of a job clearing it, but it should be a perfect spot for a second pollinator garden.  I want to get it cleared and put in some soil as soon as possible so I can plant the seeds that need cold stratification (which is pretty much all of the native wild flowers).  So I weed-whacked and then hand pulled some stuff until my back started screaming at me.  More tomorrow.  

Two hummers in the yard today.  And one male rose-breasted grosbeak.  The grosbeak was an immature male and I've put his photo in Extra if you'd like to see him.  He'll be a stunner by next spring, but even now, he is a bit of a looker.  And one utterly adorable young chipping sparrow, on Flickr

I brought my butterfly nursery in last night because it was going to be windy, rainy and cool overnight.  And by the time I came downstairs this morning, #70 was already sitting quietly in the enclosure, looking perfect.  I kept her in until around noon when the sun was finally out and temps had warmed up to around 65 F.  I opened the enclosure and she flew right out!  Only two more to go now and I think it will be a couple of days before they are ready, as they were my last two to pupate.  What this means is that you'll probably get one more monarch blip from me before I close the nursery for the year...

Hubs is having a good visit in Alabama.  He'll start the drive home tomorrow, arriving here either very late tomorrow or sometime on Monday.  

Ci vediamo, people.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.