Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Lunch break

Look carefully at this photo and you may be able to see some tiny figures dotted about in the middle distance. This is the HF longer walk group trying to sit comfortably among the limestone rocks and walls of an olive grove less well endowed with the right shape and type of stone than was yesterday's stopping place. If I've emptied my boots of jaggies once today I've emptied them six times - the withered remnants of the vegetation have a cunning way of leaping onto your socks when you least expect it.

We actually spent much of today in the walking trails of the Mercadante Foest, planted at the behest of Mussolini to protect Bari from flooding. There were noisy jays - and I saw my first holm oak, something I've previously only encountered in Latin translation.

Eleven and a half miles so far today, if you're interested...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.