passing underground

When I was wee, and we used to drive through the Clyde tunnel I always imagined that if the walls were transparent then we would see fish swimming and dolphins, a coral reef. Only as an adult did it sink in that the tunnel is dug underground and there would be nothing but dirt beyond the walls.
Today I was at the funeral of a friend of my ex's family. It is such a difficult thing to do. We all arrive as if we are the family of old and pay our respects. It's like a sleight of hand: see, this all looks in order. And I can get caught in the smoke and mirrors of whose heart lies where. What beats beneath the formalities.
This shot is as we entered the tunnel after heavy rain. There is water on the windshield that refracts the light nicely into abstract. Light that blazes I know not where, nor what it signifies. Just movement and light and water and my heart feeling the squeeze.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.