Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Flower Friday: A Tulip

"A tulip doesn't strive to impress anyone. It doesn't struggle to be different than a rose. It doesn't have to. It is different. And there's room in the garden for every flower. You didn't have to struggle to make your face different than anyone else's on earth. It just is. You are unique because you were created that way. Look at little children in kindergarten. They're all different without trying to be. As long as they're unselfconsciously being themselves, they can't help but shine. It's only later, when children are taught to compete, to strive to be better than others, that their natural light becomes distorted."


Spiritual teacher and author Marianne Williamson (b.1952)




I spent most of this afternoon attacking the hideously overgrown hedge between my unruly jungle of a garden and my neighbour's, which has not a blade of grass out of place (I'm not joking).  She was so delighted that I'd actually got round to doing some tidying up out there that she brought me a very welcome cup of tea.  Luckily, I finished the task just as the sun sank below the horizon and headed indoors for dinner followed by another Origami paper-folding session.  At this rate, I'll eventually be able to open a paper florist shop.  The paper rose I made last Friday is now stuck on Mum's fridge.  I may be middle-aged and retired, but in my mother's eyes I will always be her little girl  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.