Three Blackbirds

Today the Redwing Blackbirds stormed our feeders. They seem to visit in spring and fall. We are not too far as the crow flies (and the blackbird too) from Scudder Pond where there are cattails and other delights for blackbirds. These handsome fellows spend lots of time there. But sometimes they flock over to our house to grab a bite. These are the males with their wonderful bright orange-red epaulettes. 

I had a hard time choosing today because I loved all the Blue Herons outside the windows at Donna's house. It was the Palette Princesses book club today, the monthly gathering of my book loving lady painter friends. Today we met at Donna's. Her house looks out over Mud Bay. When we got there it was indeed mud. But by the time we were finished talking about the book, Girl on the Train, which I hadn't read, no time these days... the water had come into the bay and the extra photo is what I saw outside her window. There were six or seven Blue Herons and these two were either chatting each other up or fighting. None of us was quite sure which. 

As always I loved spending time with my painting buddies. They are just the best.

I noticed that this photo looks very much better large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.