Philly inspects my gift!

Dear Diary,

The mailman brought me a nice surprise!  The amazing DDW had sent me this sweet mug which said, "Excuse me..your bird feeder is empty!"  She said she thought of me when she saw it and I, of course, thought of Philomena!  I took it out, filled with seeds, to show her what nice people do.  She gave it an immediate two paws up in approval but suggested that I use it for coffee and not seeds.  It proved too tricky to climb despite the neat handle.

I have been listening to Pope Francis's speeches this week and my take away is quite simple...just be kind, share, do unto others as you would have done to you, and show compassion. (It also reminded me of the really wonderful book, "All I really need to know I learned in Kindergarten".)  Basic stuff but it seems very difficult for many to embrace.  But here, on a very personal level, it is played out in this cup.  The gift made me feel good all day.  Her gesture of simple kindness had a ripple effect.  Really good things and kind gestures do.


A little bit of mercy makes the world less cold and more just.
- Pope Francis

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.