Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Blip bread

I often think that one of my other passions, cooking, has much in common with classical (wet) photography. Measuring, timing, testing ....
Baking is not my forte but until a health problem last year I made most of our daily (blip!) bread. One reason was that bread in the UK is so poor compared to that in Germany, which I have the fortune to visit a few times a year (so my hand baggage, only baggage, has just bread on my return). Even so-called 'artisan bread' here, usually outrageously expensive, is still the cotton-woolly apology and, though it may be called "Bavarian ..." or whatever, it is a poor relation of the real thing.
I decided that disciplined by blipping I should get back into bread-making too so have just made the first for over a year. To make it even more than usually exciting I used spelt - the ancient forerunner of our present-day wheat - for the first time. The texture after the first rising (very fast) is so different to dough made with usual bread flour that I had to take a picture. Then, why not blip it I thought, so here you are.
I'm writing this as my wife and I eat a lunchtime snack with the freshly-baked bread. It probably needed another couple of minutes in the oven but we agree - delicious!
Olympus E-PL3. Lumix 14mm f/2.5

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.