The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

View of Saigon

After going across town on a mission to get some Vietnamese papaya salad in a park, I ran out of fuel and had to roll my bike to a gas station, which wasn't far, luckily. I then got caught in a storm and narrowly avoided a large tree branch falling as I ate.

As I drove back towards my hotel, the sun came out and I decided to visit Saigon Central Post Office which was co-designed by Gustave Eiffel (who is famous for some tower in Paris). I stopped at Bến Thành Market, which I usually avoid as it's so touristy and over-priced but I'd been recommended going in the evening to watch them set up the night market. I was a little early so popped in to Phở 2000, a restaurant famous for a visit from Bill Clinton in November 2000. They have framed photos on the wall of him eating there along with various newspaper clippings. They've even changed their logo to include the slogan "Phở for the president". Unfortunately the phở was fairly average and definitely too expensive but never mind.

Just after 6pm the night market started to be built. A building down a side street was used as storage for all the market stands. Awnings were pushed to the right spots by men on bikes and from the chaos, the market came to life.

It's my penultimate day in Saigon, so I was packing in as much as possible. Next I drove across the river to a spot known for its view of the city. The main road goes through a tunnel under the river and there is an area next to lots of Heineken billboards which is popular for young couples to come for a romantic spot. I took some photos and then headed back through the tunnel to meet some friends for a few drinks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.