The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Last day in Saigon

I had lots of errands on my 52nd and final day in Saigon. I started by driving 20 minutes across the city to Quán Đông Hoa Xuân (pictured), a restaurant selling cơm tấm bình dân (rice with various small dishes) which had come highly recommended by a popular food blog. I was mainly interested in having cá kho tộ, a clay pot with fish steak in spicy caramelised sauce which was delicious. I also braved having bao tử, their speciality of a soup with pig stomach. The soup part was amazing but I wasn't keen on the meat as it was tough, chewy and not particularly tasty.

I had another haircut and head/face massage then went to the park for the final time to say goodbye to everyone. Nam (the founder of the group) and Bao (one of the main leaders) had bought me some gifts as a thank you. It was so nice of them! I went for a drink with a few of the group and then drove 20 minutes to my favourite restaurant in the city for my last supper! It was still perfect.

I parted ways with my trusty scooter and finished the night with a tàu hũ đá at my regular street corner vendor before heading back to my room to pack my bags for the first time in 7 weeks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.