stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Shelter

Wet, wet, wet!

Day one of EIFF and I got my first soaking. I planned on making this the "green" festival this year, doing away with the environment killing last minute drives up to various car parks and doing it by foot. Need a little help from the weather though. It was grey but dry when I left. Started raining not long after and forgot to stop. Took a couple of standby shots under White Horse Close opposite the parliament just in case... and just as well really. I did manage to get a quick shot of the castle on the way home when the rain stopped briefly as I walked along Princes Street.

I was studying the menu outside Wagamama in the rain contemplating a visit when who should I bump into but reversepolarity! Three quarters of an hour for his lunch. Easy for the suddenly really busy restaurant. Never been before but I'll be back. It was delicious!

EIFF Update

For the past few years on Facebook I have vowed to review the films I see at the festival and invariably end up doing one or two before realising that I really don't have enough time. So this year, for the inaugural blip festival, I've decided to simplify things. No reviews, but a simple "See it if you liked..." recommendation based on some other films I've seen. Let's see how long this lasts!

Opening Night Gala

Killer Joe is a black comedy from The French Connection director William Friedkin. See it if you liked: Pulp Fiction, Fargo, Blood Simple or Bad Santa.

Day One

PP Riders is the first film in the Shinj Somai retrospective. See it if you liked: Goonies.

Borrowed Time A micro budget (filmed over only 18 days) British comedy. See it if you liked: Last Orders, Brassed Off or When Did You Last See Your Father.

The Invader Slow burning Belgian psycho-thriller (yep, Belgian). See it if you liked: Drive, La Haine or Fatal Attraction.


Late, late, late. A four film day tomorrow, but the first is at 3.50pm so I'll catch up with everyone in the morning.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.