Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Arabian Hospitality

Very late start to the day today. I seem to need so much sleep! G was very good and patient and didn't make any noise whilst she got on with things she needed.

I had a busy morning sorting out two important things; the first of which was calling the RTA to find out why my toll tag wasn't working as I had driven through toll gates on several ocassions since topping up, but nothing was being deducted. I discovered that somehow, in the middle of August, my car got disengaged from my tag account, resulting in me passing through the gates without being charged and incurring a £700 fine. None of it my fault I hasten to add but I'm glad I phoned today and have set the ball rolling to fix the problem.

Much to do to put the flat back to normal, but we did go out to watch "The Intern" (which was a lot of fun) and do a little shop. And that's where we came upon this young Emirati man - working for the Crown Prince's Heritage fund; offering passers-by a cup of Arabic coffee and some halwa. I obtained permission before photographing him but I guess a smile wasn't forthcoming...

Going back to the movie... "Sitting is the new smoking" was a line quoted in it, so when I got home, I immediately set up the ironing board and went at it for 2 hours. Another 90 minutes during the week, and I will have caught up.

And now it is nearly 11pm so time to head to bed to be ready for another week at work. I heard from SweetArt almost first thing, and she got home safely. No doubt painting HK red already!! :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.