The Last Smoke

A very special day; I've been slaving all day, from collecting a paper as soon as the shops opened, to making breakfast, ferrying her nibs to the main event* and being pressed into delivering all manner of services. And there's still a meal to stump up for.
But back to the main event*; the chimneys on some old power station down the coast were getting blown up at noon. A spectacle of sorts, I guess. A free spectacle, at least. No wonder the crowds came from far and wide. Well, I should clarify - it would have been free if beef and horseradish sandwiches, crisps, bottles of pop and chocolate cake hadn’t been demanded. At least we were able to share the spread with a celebrated local photographer. And a bloody spaniel that ran off with my last sandwich and spilled my pop. I nearly throttled it - but it just thought it was some sort of enjoyable game. I could go on, but it’s time to go and squeeze myself into a trendy shirt. Taxi!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.