Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Fall is officially here...

For the first time since this spring, there wasn't a hummingbird in the yard today.  But, right on cue, a flock of cedar waxwings showed up and dove into a patch of pokeweed berries.  I was able, with some patience, to get within about 20 feet of the bush where I sat quietly until they returned.  I love watching cedar waxwings - such gregarious creatures and the adults are so sleek and glossy and ... exotic looking.  I chose this shot for a couple of reasons...
1 - you can see the difference in plumage between the adult (right) and the juvenile (left), and
2 - I got the juvenile in mid-gulp, always fun.

I've been encouraging native pokeweed to grown around the edges of our yard for several years now (after convincing Hubs that they didn't need to be whacked down) and this is my reward - waxwings, catbirds, robins all love them and the long spikes of deep purple berries are so attractive.  Three other shots on Flickr, starting HERE

The day didn't start out quite so well - sadly, I had to euthanize the butterfly that eclosed yesterday.  Her wing was so badly misshapen that she would not be able to fly.  So after I consulted with some "experts", I decided to do the tough thing and end her brief life.  The easiest way to do this is to simply freeze the butterfly - it is quick and peaceful.  So, the deed is done.  Meanwhile, two of the three remaining chrysalis look suspicious, so I rehung them outside in a safe place and we'll just see what happens.  The third, which has looked ready to eclose since yesterday just isn't doing anything - my fear is that this one, too is damaged in some way and simple can't release itself from the chrysalis.  So, it's not been a huge success, my monarch project - but it has been rewarding never the less, and such an amazing learning experience.  And I will probably try it again next year with a few modifications (top of the list will be sterilizing the eggs before letting them hatch into caterpillars - this virtually eliminates the dreaded OE parasite that is so prevalent in monarchs.)  

Hubs got a new snow blower today.  We sold ours last year when we were packing up and moving to FL - never thinking that it wouldn't work out, we wouldn't sell our house, and we'd move back!  Life is funny that way - we plan, God laughs.  Anyway, he got a great deal on it and we are now officially ready for winter.  Not that I'm in any hurry, mind you.

Thanks for all the love on my hummie duo yesterday.  I am keeping a feeder up for at least another month, just for any late migrants, and I am still hoping that yesterday won't be my last hummer blip of the year...but we'll see.

Enjoy the rest of the weekend...

Technical notes:  Nikon D750 w/Nikkor 300 mm f/4 lens.  1/800, f/5, ISO 500, hand held.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.