pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Mollie's Macarons

On Wednesday, while I was watching Great British Bake Off and Mollie was watching the same in Cambridge, we were communicating by text. One of those texts said 'I'm going to make macrons this weekend, just a heads up!xx'

So after a long lie in, Mollie got started on her macarons, Jon took his dogs for a walk and I went in to Cromer to post some earrings off to various parts of Cambridgeshire. Henry just had an even longer lie in!

I wasn't in Cromer long, but it still feels new to pop in to my closest town, to find everyone else is making a special visit because it is a typical British seaside town. And due to the lovely weather, there were even families with small children heading down to the beach in shorts, and with buckets and spades in hand. I'm thinking I was a little premature last Sunday putting my shorts and summer dresses into the loft. 

We all came together an hour later to drink coffee in the garden. After lunch, also in the garden, Jon and Henry headed upstairs to start on his wallpapering. Both Mollie and Henry's rooms are going to have a wall or 2 of wallpaper. After a full afternoon wallpapering, Henry's room was finished and he proudly took me up there, making me keep my eyes closed, like a DIY SoS moment. I must say, that I was suitably impressed. The wall paper is Star Wars, and makes a great impact. I didn't take a photo though. Tomorrow perhaps?

With our tea break in the afternoon, we enjoyed the macarons. They were lovely. We discussed how much work was involved and Mollie said she's done them now and doesn't need to ever make them again. She was especially pleased with this one though - the extra photo!!

I spent a bit of time putting some bits into a suitcase. I'm heading to Torquay tomorrow for a Pensions Administrators training course, coming home Thursday. Although I've been doing pensions for 26 years or more now, because the last 10 were spent doing less processing and more managing, I am very rusty on the basics. I'm looking forward to being brought back up to date and learning about the current rules. I don't expect to remember it all, but I hope lots will make sense, and make me more useful in the work place. Especially when it comes to answering queries. I'm not, however, looking forward to the 6+ hour train journey, changing 3 times!

Mollie & I literally popped into Sheringham for an hour late on. The shops were mostly closing at 5, which was a bit frustrating, but we bought a metal sieve in Blythe & Wright, the most amazing old fashioned hardware shop.

After a Morrisons curry, we watched Strictly then I went upstairs to watch a bit of the rugby. The others watched a film. I'm not very good at watching films.

So now it's a late night! For once. Then a week apart again - but for once it is me who is going, not him! Hoping I can still blip, but phone is playing up big time, so I don't know until I get there if it will be possible. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.