pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Torquay - the first impression

An exhausting day - this 'Day of Rest' played out over Facebook for the most part because I was so bored on my very long journey!

So to cut a long day short Norwich 3pm to London 5pm no probs. Then a race across London by tube with a heavy bag, was not fun. Had to change tubes for reasons to do with works on the line, but got to Paddington in time. The train left at 6pm so seemingly one minute late, but proceeded very slowly until we were advised by 'Wayne' the driver (that worried me, can a 'Wayne' really drive a train, or am I being Wayne-ist?) advised that someone on a train in the Ealing Broadway area had been ill, the train had been delayed due to this, & therefore so was ours! No, I don't understand that logic either. It was to be a 2 hour 52 minute journey; it became 3 hours 30 from Paddington! Wayne was excellent in keeping us updated, 25 then 35 & finally 40 minutes late.

BUT good old GWR held our connecting train in Newton Abbot and we dashed from one platform to the other at 9.30pm. No need for panic, a bus or taxi. So arrived, in Torquay for my first visit, in the dark. I walked down to the front where I took this photo, then walked back up Kings Street, or Kings something towards my hotel. I probably should have splashed out on a taxi - it was dark after all, but I figured a safe seaside place with just elderly residents?

The Eastern European lady on reception was very informative, pretty and ready for my arrival.

So now I'm lying on my bed with itv+1 (Downton Abbey) and a cup of tea!

Happy Sunday everyone :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.