pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Torquay - so many photos to choose from!

I woke at 7.30 and after surfacing slowly wandered down to have breakfast. There I met the 4 people from London Borough of Lewisham and a lady from Surrey who had also arrived last night.

It was a lovely sunny day and as the course started at 10.45 I decided I had to take the opportunity to explore the bit of Torquay I had only seen in the dark last night.

I walked all the way to the harbour and can only say I've never seen so many hotels. Side by side by side. Above and below each other along the cliffs. The English riviera as it is know, is hotel heaven! I can't imagine how busy it must be in high season. I took loads of photos. None of them this one - and walked for an hour to walk off my two course breakfast.

At 10.45 the whole group convened, where we did the usual ice breaking introducing ourselves activity, then a very informative and interesting talk by Bob Holloway about DCLG and pensions policies, regulations etc.

Then a huge lunch. The afternoon session was also interesting, where we had a full overview of Regulations from the year dot. Starting with The Lunacy Act in the 1800's to 2013 Regs. Some would say still a fair amount of lunacy gone in to creating the 2014 scheme!

At 5 we finished and I went back to my room. Instantly I felt exhausted. After an hour sitting I decided I had to go out for a walk or I'd fall asleep. I set off in the opposite direction and walked for miles - I thought I'd find a shop as I really wanted some mints. Eventually I found a Spar then thinking it was quicker to keep going, rather than retrace my steps, I found a very closed town centre and eventually the harbour. Dinner was at 7.30 and I got back to my room at 7, just in time for The Archers. Well, that was a depressing (but possibly predictable) episode. Poor Ruth. I went to dinner and didn't even have anyone I could talk to about it!!!

Dinner was 3 courses. I'm already thinking I might skip food tomorrow. Now it's Doc Martin and then an early night. My travelling yesterday is catching up on me. I'm feeling pretty tired.

The evening harbour photo beat those of the hotels, cliff, sea splashing up onto harbour wall and numerous others I took today!!

It's been an enjoyable day (but obviously not better than a day at work!) and I'm looking forward to tomorrow. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.