McNabb

There were well documented financial issues a while back, but the Rickenbacker was still there and tonight was a pretty emphatic statement of intent from The Icicle Works.  Having gigged only sporadically over the last few years, this was the second date of a proper tour.  The sound was clear and the playing was tight, apart from a couple of false starts that didn't really matter and only served to lighten the mood.  This is a band I grew up with, but I'd never actually managed to see them before tonight.  Evangeline has always been a strong candidate for my Desert Island Discs selection (were I ever to be offered one).


It was also a gentle antidote to the madness of PsychFest last night.  I could have done a second night had I wanted, but I think my back will thank me for it in the morning.  A great night and a shame I had to skip most of the Chinese birthday celebration to shoot a less than impressive support.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.