Apple Mania

Apple and oranges. It’s a far cry from the old nursery rhyme of oranges and lemons.
And maybe the only bells you’ll hear here are those of enthusiasts eager to try out the latest iPhone at the Apple store, rather than those bells of the nursery rhyme of St Clement’s, St Martin’s and the Old Bailey.
Mind you, while I was there the fruit stall was quite busy too. Yet it was the Apple store behind which had its own queue system intended to guarantee that there were not too many people in the shop at the same time.
Curious how a new piece of gadgetry like an iPhone can create such a furore. In the pecking order of things, mine is now two versions out of date, yet it is perfectly good and has what I consider more than enough gimmicks allowing me to do whatever I might use the phone for. Even to making telephone calls.
So will I succumb and demand the latest one, which I know full well will be superseded before many months?
Perhaps the answer lies in the fourth verse of the nursery rhyme — When I grow rich, say the bells of Shoreditch.
Of course, if you follow that through, the next couple of verses are equally pertinent.
When will that be, say the bells of Stepney.
I do not know, says the great bell of Bow.

So, it looks as though I’ll be using my present phone for some time to come yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.