Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Culture day

Many thanks for all the comments, stars and hearts for my Vulcan blip yesterday! After a quick drink in the bar of the hotel as the only male amongst a large number of females attending the Olly Murs tribute act being held there last night, we headed off for a superb curry. (Just to be clear following comments; I wasn't attending the tribute act. I'm pleased to say I have no idea who Olly Murs is!)

Today we drove to Salts Mill by a roundabout route due to road closures for the Bradford 10k run. I always meant to visit when I worked a few days a month in Bradford but never got round to it. Originally a woollen mill built by philanthropist Titus Salt in Saltaire, the model village he subsequently built nearby to house his workers, it is now an art gallery with shops and cafes. The 'arty' shopping was interesting and we bought a few things, but the highlight was the David Hockney exhibition 'The Arrival of Spring' in the gallery, where my picture was taken. We had seen some of the pictures in the Hockney exhibition at the RA in 2012 but this is the first time the entire sequence of 49 pictures has been displayed together.

Setting off for home, we called in for a couple of hours at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park where, amongst many other things, we saw the cascade of poppies originally displayed at the Tower of London last year.

Now back home; considering we've only been away one night it feels as though we've had a really full weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.