MJ

Day out with MHI (Mobile Health International) in the village of Mole. This is MJ, Mogga's daughter. In the past two days, MHI has gone through 110 malaria test kits. A new record. Everyone has malaria right now (of the Plasmodium falciparum species).

It was incredible to pray with a woman who has lost 6 children and is fearful of losing her current 3 month old daughter.

We took care of a young girl with an extremely high fever who was visibly shaking due to the malaria bursting out of her red blood cells.

I made friends with one family in particular: the four children all had malaria, sweet things. Stephin, Lawrence, Sula, and Evelen.

As we were getting ready to leave, one boy came up to me and asked me in English, "what is your name?" I replied with, "Elizabeth". He shouted, "Oh! I know you very well! You were here last year!" How exciting! He remembered me. I think he was in Sunyo for the community day we held there. I have to look through my photos from last summer and find his face again. He looked so familiar to me.

It was a wonderful day in the field working alongside the South Sudanese.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.