The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

On Daneway Banks

...Daneway Banks nature reserve, that is, near the villages of Sapperton and Miserden, where Cider with Rosie, shown on the BBC tonight, was filmed, Miserden is a tied village that hasn't changed much since Laurie Lee's youth.. It's been a good year for spot-the-Cotswold location in dramas, though I'm gutted that I was present at the scene (Chavenage House) of the filming of Poldark, yet never managed to see Ross, nor his hair!

I was too lazy to look for macros, and the light was very strong, so I've ended up with a panoramic shot instead. Steve had promised me butterflies, but there were precious few, though he saw a lot of goldfinches. We've missed them in the garden this year.

Back home, I patched a pair of jeans. It was quite a to-do, and I understand why it went out of fashion in the affluent west. I thought about the journey of the cheap factory-second jeans, probably made in a sweatshop in Bangladesh, to Store 21 in Stroud, and then to being worn out and patched with another ripped pair of jeans and fabric from a jumble-sale dress. I wondered who makes the demin, and who grows the cotton (?) that makes the fabric. Wasn't there a film about all of that, or was it a Levi's advert? However, by upcycling and recycling, I guess I'm buying fewer death-factory jeans in the first place. Most of my neighbours in Tower Hamlets were Bangladeshi.

This evening, I made blackberry syllabub with the fruit I picked yesterday, and noticed with pleasure that Scotland and Ireland both won their rugby games today.

Am I going to get up at 3 am to watch the big moon doing its thing? I very much doubt it, since I'm due in at work a few hours later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.