RedDevil

By RedDevil

Hubble, Bubble, Toil and lotsa Trouble!

My first car was a 1960’s 3 wheeled, Isetta Bubble car, (no, not the one Mr. Bean owned, which was a Reliant). 
 
I had a “tricycle learner’s permit’ and could drive it on my own without taking a test, as long as the "Reverse Gear" was blocked off.   So, to park the car, you drove forward, jumped out of the car, pulled it by a little luggage rack at the back, jumped back in move forward and so on.   (It was only made of fibreglass so a relatively simple task!).
 
My father was furious when I bought it home, telling me it was a death trap, as the one wheel at the back made the car spin when going around a corner (which of course it did) and possibly rollover (which it never did!).  
 
Anyway, I had many adventures in it, but, I’ll mention just two; the gear stick came out of its socket at a major intersection, a policeman came over to see what the problem was and almost doubled with laughter whilst I tried desperately to screw it back in.
 
On a memorable date, I was dressed to the nines going to a big country house for a party, my boyfriend at the time, was embarrassed about us arriving in a three wheeler, in his mind so not de rigueur, which of course made me more adamant about which car we would be going in.  
 
Well, just outside of the driveway to the country estate,  my bubble car caught fire (the battery was under the bench seat and friction from the battery and seat springs had caused the horse hair in the seat to catch fire).  Said boyfriend. ripped out the seat, acid all over shoes, bottom-line no more boyfriend!.
 
My father won the day and it eventually got sold (mainly for the number plate) which from memory was DOC 1 or similar.
 

Sadly, I don’t have one single photograph of this little beauty, but bought this scaled model about 10 years ago as a memento of my youth.    My second photograph shows how the car door opens, steering wheel and all….. Aaaaahhh memories of past times!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.