BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

For The Record

At 3 a.m.
we went into the cat’s bedroom
to view the moon.


He was pleased to see us
and did a bit of purring, kneading
and staring (I like to think) at the Supermoon.


He ate some
of his biscuits
and drank some of his water.


He doesn’t understand
that the event won’t happen again until 2033
and that he won’t be around to see it.


I might well not be around either
though not being around to see things
is hard to imagine isn’t it?


How can we not exist?
How can the world carry on without us?
How can we just perish like everyone else has done before us?


Easily, I guess!

I’m going to make the most of today.
It’s sunny.
I’ve some cash to pay in at the bank.


I might laugh,
and dance, all the way to it.


And I’ve just jotted this down
For The Record.
There’s no need to read it.


And yes, he does have his own room.


Moondance

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.