BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

21

September is nearly done
and the sun
is shining on that wall again.


I saw it do the same yesterday
and the day before. No rain
has fallen for at least four
days. Possibly more.


I took this photo on the way
to post a card
that celebrates the passing
of 21 years.


21 years!
That literally is a lifetime,
for her.


And quite a chunk of my lifetime too.

And where did it go?
And did I value it enough
at the time? No!


Did I always make sure
we were having the time of our lives?


No!

I could tell her how,
once upon a time,
she used to fit in the crook
of my arm.


Or remind her of the games
we played and each book
we read at bedtime.


Regrets?

I do have a few.

But looking forward
is the thing to do.



Looking Back

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.