If at first you don't succeed ...

.... Trier, Trier, Trier again!

These amazing ancient Roman mozaic floors are on display a short drive from Trier at Otrang - a purpose built villa. When we arrived and discovered a sign saying, New opening hours; closed on Mondays, we saved six euros, which is one way of looking at it, or peered through the windows, which was our way of looking at it. And photographing as much as we could see, where the sun lit up the tiles. So they're my main blip today. 

Then it was back to Trier to see the spectacular amphitheatre  (see Extra, with Mr PP standing in the centre), and the remains of a Roman Kaiserthermen  (Imperial Baths), so ambitious and imposing that it was never finished.

My other Extra I snapped at 5.00 am German time, when I woke and, lying comatose, suddenly remembered the blood moon eclipse. Leapt out of bed, opened the window, and there it was. My photo's not a patch on many I've seen, but had to include it for the record. In reality, it looked a lot brighter and redder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.