A 'shag'gy dog story....

I went down to Dunbar harbour to take some shots of birds in flight and was surprised to see such little activity as the tide was way out and the sea completely calm on a windless day. Every five minutes or so there would be  an odd bird that would fly across but none of the usual cawing of the gulls and frenetic activity. I wanted if possible to catch a shag in flight as I have not been able to do this previously but were on rocks that were pretty well at the limit of my telephoto lens set up (a 200mm with a doubler). Still I persevered and managed to get some shots though they are to as sharp as I would have liked as the very dark colouring of the shags makes it difficult for the autofocus to lock onto the birds in flight. However there was a minute  when suddenly there was a flock of gulls flying around though that makes it very hard to know where to focus but one shot had sufficient depth of field to capture several birds at once and I have included this as my extra photo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.