The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Layers

I did get up to see the supermoon eclipse, and there is a photo in the Extras to prove it.  I wonder though if I might have been better simply watching the shadow of the Earth crossing the Moon, rather than the alternative of trying to get a photograph.  What I learned from the latter is that I need to practise more with using the tripod and camera in the dark.  In a slightly dazed state I was trying to remember how to set the timer while wrestling with other settings.  All the time the shadow was spreading further.  Anyway, there are so many other blips of it today, that I am not using it as my main blip.  Anyway, I did say to Eric that I would try and get a photograph, so here it is as an Extra.

Instead, here is the view from the top of Arnside Knott after the sunrise, but when the mist was still deep over the low-lying land and was lapping in slow waves up to the wooded low hills.  In the distance Ingleborough rises above the layered, misty landscape, and cows graze in the pastured foreground between the solitary trees. 

Then there was a beautiful sunset this evening, as the wind and water calmed and the estuary reflected the oranges and pinks of the sky (I may do another Extra later).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.