What our parents never taught us...

We all, I suspect, have memories of the things we learnt from our parents, good and bad.   But today I got to thinking about those things my parents couldn't have known and wouldn't have been able to help with. 

Whistle I find it difficult to imagine life without a computer (in fact several in various places) I am sure my father never  used one  though he was a touch typist and had a typewriter on his desk at home all the time I remember him.   My mother, however,  never went near a keyboard and hand wrote everything.

And as I unwrapped my new iPhone today I realised that setting up a smartphone would be another thing that our parents , if you are my age, couldn't teach us.  Neither of  them ever had a mobile phone, for a start.  

So there are eternal verities , truths and skills  handed on generation to generation and I am grateful for  all  of them that I did get given but in this age there are also many, many things that we have had to work out for ourselves as technology , and history, speeds up.   

Will it be so for our children too ? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.