Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Digging In : Flowers for Chalky

My first visit to view the Digging In Project in Pollok Park.  A reconstruction of World War 1 Allied and German trench systems. Located on the football field not far from the Burrell Collection.  More info here.

The first opening was last weekend for Doors Open Day in Glasgow.  There will be more opportunities to visit and see the extension and development of the trenches up to 2018.  Keeping my eyes open for a chance to go beyond the fence and get up close.  

I did get some good shots through the fencing, but these flowers have to be my Blip for today.  A moving tribute, linked to the anniversary of the Battle of Loos.  Around 21,000 British soldiers died in the Battle, about 7,000 of them were Scottish. 

Charles "Chalky" Gallacher (Stewarton)
Black Watch
Battle of Loos
Shrapnel Wound/P.O.W.
He survived to raise a family.
I am one of themxx
25 September 2015

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.