Alpine Strawberry

It looks large but is only the size of the nail on my little finger.

It's not what I'd hoped to take a photo of but I did the "no memory card in the camera trick" again today. So I had to wait until I got home to get a shot. These mouse size strawberries appear, as if by magic, as they're so small you hardly notice them.

I'd taken my dad out for lunch but we had a mission before that. We ended up at the Churnet Valley Railway near Leek. Dad had kept some tools of his father's for years (my dad's 79) but now wanted to give them to a good home. They were welcomed by a couple of the volunteer staff who keep the trains, the line and the stations going. My dad was really pleased, and thought that his dad would have liked the fact that they were going to a good home.

In the old suitcase, which dad had kept all the tools in, was a button hook. Apparently it was my great grandmother's and it's now in my possession. Obviously, I never met her, but it was such a lovely item to have, knowing it had a family connection. It's not a fancy one but I like the idea of her using it to fasten her boots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.