But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Control Tower.

Stayed up last night to see the eclipse. It was, allegedly, the most spectacular such event since 1982; but then again . . .
I remember cycling home from work, through the town, and watching a total lunar eclipse unfold. On arriving, I went out with Jnr to a dark lane so that he could see the spectacular blood red moon in all its splendour. While I don't remember the year of that eclipse, I do distinctly remember his birth in 1982. It would be several years before he was old enough to venture out on a cold, dark, winter's night and appreciate such a spectacle. Looking at the records on line, my guess is that it was October 28th, 1985. This morning's effort did not match up to my expectations based on my memories, perhaps I watched the last eclipse through rose tinted spectacles.

The other disappointment was the photographs I took, I now realise that I went about it the wrong way through not having thought the process through properly. The next good opportunity is 2029 Jun 26 at 3:22 a.m.


Later on I drove down to the Midlands to pick up Herself from a birthday party, stopped on the way at Lancaster service station; it is notable for this hexagonal concrete tower on the northbound side, named The Pennine Tower. It originally housed an up-market restaurant and a sun deck and was designed to resemble an Air Traffic Control Tower; it was closed to the public in 1989 due to Fire Regulations and is now only used for storage.

Today's Mono Monday theme is "past;" well I did drive past this and, since it is now Tuesday, it is probably past the allowed time to qualify for the challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.