Tommy0161

By Tommy0161

Spiders...

I like autumn. I like the cooling weather. I like the darker evenings when you can close the doors, make something wholesome and be all cosy inside. I like the days that start cold but, given a little sunshine, warm up. I love the colours. I like planting for spring and I like to see the mushrooms and toadstools that pop up on the lawn. I enjoy Halloween and Bonfire Night and I love the prospect of Christmas on the horizon.

But I don't like spiders. I'm not keen on them at any time of the year but at this time of year they are looking for a warm, dry cave to spend the winter. And a warm, centrally heated house is a more than adequate substitute. And they are big at this time of year. They've had all summer to get bigger and bigger eating goodness knows what.

I'm told this is a Common Garden Spider. I went into the bathroom this morning. The light wasn't on but my spider sense was tingling and I saw this dark shape out of the corner of my eye in the bath. Putting the light on I was greeted by this! I took a deep breath, scooped it up and it was out into the garden with it. Hopefully it will move into the cave next door next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.