The Daily Fox ...

By MaggieB

Meltdown!

This is one of those days when I could just post a photo and no words .. however ..

So today I went into Boots to get some specs for mum. The care home have managed to lose both her pairs. She seems to manage very well without them - they're a fairly weak prescription, and she only watches TV and looks into the garden - no reading or close up work.

I rang Boots last week to explain I just wanted to order specs from her last prescription.

No - that would be illegal as it was over three years old. I explained that a three year out of date eye test was going to be the most accurate one they could have as mum has dementia and wouldn't understand what was expected of her.

OK - but she'd need to come in for a fitting. I said that I was really trying to avoid bring her in to the shop as she hates to travel - couldn't they use the measurements they have on file?

OK - but they'd need mum's permission for me to order glasses for her. I told them I have Power of Attorney - surely that should cover it.

Fine.

So in I went - chose two frames - explained the situation yet again - the assistant took all the details then said they'd need proof that I had POA. 

I must have been particularly stressed today because I ended up having the most awful and sweary meltdown - saying that if that had been required perhaps they should have told me and was it really common for people to maliciously supply old ladies with spectacles. And I sobbed. And swore. A lot.

The chief optician came to see me and everyone was very pleasant - but I stormed out, making myself resist overturning all the display stands.

I gathered myself slightly - stormed back in again - and asked for a copy of mum's prescription. The little boy behind the counter - unaware of all that had gone before - told me the prescription was out of date - aaarrgghhh!

I explained through my sobs that I was well aware of that - it was fine. He then told me the printer was broken - arrgghh again.

The optician reappeared and was remarkably sympathetic. I then had a brainwave. Couldn't I just order the flipping glasses and bring in the proof when I collected.

Yes - that was fine!!!!

I worry that I'll be sectioned when I return to the shop.

Meanwhile, back in the garden. Jack and Sweetpea turned up as usual and Jack took his meds while Sweetpea was distracted with sausages.

It's a tricky business - in theory I suppose I should refrain from giving food to Jack in the hope that he gets so hungry that he can't resist going into the trap to collect the bait food.

In practice (although I'm still trying) I think the chances of him going into the trap are nil - particularly when I'm out there, and I need to be, in order to cut the string holding the door.

So in addition to his antibiotics which he's taking daily, I'm giving him good healthy, nutritious food to help his healing .. I hope it's the right decision!
A vet friend is looking at the daily photos and seems happy enough with Jack's progress.

Mum slept most of today and seems to be wheezing and has a drippy nose.

What a fun life I lead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.