TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

Amish Schoolhouse

This photo was taken one year ago today shortly after I moved into my new home in rural central PA. It is smack dab in the heart of Amish country and I absolutely adore the peace, beauty and serenity, the community...really everything about this little valley. 
I came upon this little schoolhouse while out on my daily walk with the dog. We had been doing a little exploring down an unpaved lane just down the hill from our house. I thought it was cute and sweet and I love the colorful scooters that the Amish children ride to school and back so I snapped a quick pic. 
Unfortunately, the framing of the photo leaves a little to be desired but that's because I was holding onto the leash and the dog was restless so I had to be quick about it. Boy, some dogs just have no patience for photography. I tell ya. :)


"Do you have a little red schoolhouse
safe in your memory,
With an iron stove and an outside pump
and a shady apple tree?



There were well-carved desks and water
pail and many shaggy books,
A round world globe, a few rough shelves…
at the back, a row of hooks.



A long black stovepipe ran the length
of the rudely finished room
And a coal-oil lamp on a swinging chain
helped dispel the gloom.



A blackboard graced the whole front 
wall; there was always lots of chalk.
You used a slate and your pencil
squeaked and no one dared to talk.



The modern schools are large and grand
and beautiful to see,
But how many love the country school
treasured in memory?" 



~ Helen E. Middleton

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.