Excelsior

The smoking ban never reached this caff. In all the time I’ve known it it’s been a fug in which those who can face it can get large cheap mugs of tea and traditional English food (anything on toast) on formica tables. I’ve only been in two or three times and I was surprised walking past on Tuesday to find it closed. The man in the doorway insisted nothing had changed nor would change but he did eventually admit that he was the owner and that he hadn’t previously been the owner. It is to be called the New Excelsior.

I’m quite sure he’s right not to change it. There’s no end of uppity-market places on gentrifying Cowley Road and the Excelsior had a very loyal group of customers (never a clientèle) who are probably looking forward to reclaiming their favourite chairs. But just in case, I came back today to make sure I caught it in its Mondrian-in-the-night-shelter phase.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.