Mr. A

was taking in a bit a fresh air outside the home for the elderly. His Afghani garb, so colorful, caught my attention, as did his dignified posture. This Eritrea-born gent has the most amazingly elegant hands: long and lean fingers that move gracefully. 

His first question to me was about my camera's lens. Turns out he was a graphic artist and a photographer in the good ol' days of film and taught camera basics to inner city kids in LA, where he lived for most of his adult life. We had an interesting conversation about the merits (or not...) of digital photography and what he thinks is the lost art of fine tuning shadows and lights :)  He carries a small photo book in his satchel with images he took and pix of his family members. I hope my shots of him will live up to his standards :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.