Patrona

By patrona

Little Green Balls

Time is, as we know elastic. The wait behind a dithery woman at the supermarket checkout, the 5 minutes in the dentist chair that seem like 5 hours, the eternity of never changing traffic lights, the whirlwind passage of a beautiful person in the street.

So the fact that today has gone by in 24 minutes can explain why I was crawling around in my vegetable patch at 8.30 tonight praying for a large snail or a juicy slug. There just hasn't been the space in the day to do a thing.

That and Jessica the Jeep being in the beauty salon having her lubrication examined and some form of colonic irrigation to cure an intermittent loss of cooling fluid meant that I was confined, all the walkable blips have been done and the magpies have been noticeably absent, so.............. voila my little perfectly formed round courgette.

I have lost the label, written in pencil on a strip of washing up liquid bottle and washed off in the rain, and short of looking through the e-mail inbox for the detailed order confirmation I am waiting to see what I get. It may elongate, or it may steadily self inflate until a small melon sized and shaped courgette emerges. I also remember that I have to do something with a rubber band on the end of the flower for some reason related to pollination, but I have no recollection of what and when.

We are holding a party tomorrow to celebrate the feast of St Juan, which is related to the summer solstice, I have to say TJ's entry yesterday, looked far more my sort of thing, but canapés with catalans it has to be .

Talking of TJ, she is headed our way next week , hope we get a chance to say conas a dheanann tu.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.