Thank you!

Granddaughter Nina, newly 7, never fails to thank me and His Lordship for sending presents to her on her birthdays, and her cards are carefully preserved as is the way with Grandmothers. This is the latest one.

In this day and age when presents to the younger generation often go unthanked, it is heart warming that this young lady is being brought up by her mother to appreciate the time and thought that goes into the giving of gifts. I will be surprised if she does not pass on this awareness on to her children in turn.

I had a friend, tragically no longer with us, who equalled me in the number of grandchildren but who was hard core enough in not giving gifts to those amongst the number who failed to thank. I would like to emulate her, but am too much of a softie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.