Birthday Boy

Today I went to a 70th birthday party of a friend whom I met with his wife exactly a year ago. They are a loving and fun loving couple as I think you can see from the photo. It is not a very good photo of my friend as I didn't have many photos to choose from - most of the photos I took were with his camera. 
A typical celebration for a significant birthday in Austria is to invite everyone to your favourite guesthouse or restaurant for lunch. (I am doing this tomorrow to celebrate mine). This one is a well known old family run guesthouse in the next town. I hadn't been there before and the buffet meal was fantastic as was the duo singing folk songs with accordian and guitar.
Quite often the entertainment takes on the form of a roast for the victim host. Some of the guests will write amusing poems or perform sketches, often involving costume changes for the birthday boy. The extra shows our host modelling his Age 70 t-shirt and the towelling "Lederhosen". The significance of the latter was lost on me as I hadn't understood the poem but I am assuming it is something to do with incontinence! He was a good sport about it and kept the t shirt and pants on for the duration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.