Postcard from Christchurch.. Sunday in the Gardens

This morning I decided to visit the Botanic Gardens as gale force winds were expected in the afternoon and it was bound to damage all the wonderful spring flowers which are out at the moment. I should have gone earlier than I did as just as I was leaving the gardens, the gales hit. It have been so lovely and warm before that with no wind and sadly no sun.

The gardens were so busy today. Family groups with picnic hampers were enjoying the beautiful day in the gardens. There also was a event on call Fun Palaces going on with events all over the gardens and Hagley Park. They had treasure hunts, family fun walk and you could find hidden delights and win prizes. I didn't realise this was on and was wondering why there were so many people about.

When the wind picked up I heard one little boy say to his mum.. "I didn't think it snowed in October" because all the blossom was blowing all over the place, just like snow was falling.

The gale force winds have been really bad all over Canterbury. They were strong to start with here and is died down a little, but now have really picked up again. Here is some news on the gale force winds.


Here is something I watched before and it gave me such a good laugh.. it doesn't go for long and it is all about the life of the road cone in Christchurch. Well worth a watch!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.